Oh my Bread!

“If thou tastest a crust of bread, thou tastest all the stars and all the heavens.” Robert Browning (1812-1889) English poet.

 

Oh Bread! I love you warm and toasty bread.   Lately I have been reading a lot about the vast wasteland that store bought bread has become.  The additives and preservatives that have been added to prolong the shelf life is the supposed cause of many conditons, and the robber of nutrients and taste.  The cost however is what got my attention, the cost of bread has risen dramatically over the past few months.

So, I came across this article and had to give it a go.

So, here is the recipe ~

No-Knead Bread
Adapted from Jim Lahey, Sullivan Street Bakery
Time: About 1 1/2 hours plus 14 to 20 hours’ rising

3 cups all-purpose or bread flour, more for dusting
1/4 teaspoon instant yeast
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
Cornmeal or wheat bran as needed.

First thing to note, is that the four  ingredients listed are things you have not only heard of,  they are easy to pronounce and you more then likely have them around your house.   It is only 4 items and come on, could it be any easier then that??  I don’t think so.  Ok, so you throw flour, yeast and salt into a bowl, add water cover and let rise for 12-18 hours.  Turn it out and flour it with cornmeal, wheat bran or use whatever you have on hand, I used ground flax seed.  Form a ball place back into a bowl covered with two towels, let rise for two more hours. Heat up your pan, I used my little Le Crueset (thanks Mom) baked covered for 30 minutes, then uncovered for 15, and then done!

  ~ I did use organic whole wheat flour, because I love whole wheat bread, I also dusted my towels with a bit of the whole wheat flour,  to prevent sticking.  So, it is rustic, dense, and full of great flavor. The smell in the house was fantastic. It makes great toast, good for turkey sandwhiches, good with jam.  I can pronounce all the key ingredients and it is really healthy.  We loved it and have some more dough rising as we speak.  

Will this be the end to store bought bread?  Hmmm, maybe!

2 thoughts on “Oh my Bread!

  1. That bread looks good! I used to make my own a lot, admittedly in a bread maker but at least it was homemade, but have got out of the habit. I find homemade bread lasts about half an hour in this house and I just can’t keep up with demand.

    But you have inspired me to get back into it! Thank you.

  2. This surely looks delicious! I used to make bread often when my girls were growing up; I’ve since stopped because we “overindulge” too often. :)

Leave a Reply

