Sewing for baby~

There are a lot of babies soon to be born, in our family and a lot of friends as well. So, with this in mind I am trying out a few different things. The first topic being an area that I have wanted to get back into for a long time…. The Handmade Dress’ Samantha  did a lovely post on the topic of Heirloom Sewing.   Just look at her photo’s, her work is exquisite.  I know when my first daughter was little I took a class at a local sewing shop, on smocking.. at the time I just did not have the time and patience to stick with it.   Now that I am older, ahem, well, I am back interested… especially after reading this blog! 

Here is my little ode to heirloom with a bonnet made from cotton sateen, entredeux, and a finely crocheted shell edge. I spent time with this book for inspiration..

 

  Please note that spot appears to be on my lens, I had to go and do a double check on that, but no it is the lens thankfully!

  ~little birdy applique with some embroidery..

  There are so many different post’s on the applique, I have no idea where or when I saw this.. but it is made from a lovely flannel called Nursery Time, appliqued with wonder under and then zig zagged around. On a baby kimono shirt..

     All babies need burp cloth’s… I used Juliette’s tutorial  the only change I did was not use the birdseye diaper, mine was the premium 6ply super absorbant diaper, it had the thicker middle.. and it seems as if I did see this made with that kind of diaper, but I can not remember for the life of me where. However~ with this is what I came up with.. I am just loving that fabric..

 

More to do, but this is what occupied my time over the weekend.   Hope yours was all that you wanted it to be..

One thought on “Sewing for baby~

Leave a Reply

