~What’s for dinner?

Coming up with new ideas for dinner can be challenging.  Thankfully we are in the best time of the year for nutritious and delicious options!

 

I like to go to our neighborhood veggie store to pick up fresh items for dinner.
Today yielded some kale, snap beans, new potatoes, and summer squash. I have been wanting to try this recipe I have seen other recipes around, but I do not care for vinegar. However I LOVE olive oil and this version really worked for me.
The funny thing is these kale chips taste just like real chips.  I am not kidding.  If you took a bite without looking at it you would not know. I know it sounds crazy but it is so true!


I really had a taste for roasted vegetables so I tossed a bit of summer squash, snap beans, and vidalia onion with some olive oil.  I roasted this little medley at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes.  Tossed with orzo it was fantastic! It was light and very satisfying.  I used Ina’s recipe for the new potatoes~ of course they were fabulous!! That goes without saying…

Every time I see cherries I just feel so happy.  They are one of my very favorite fruit.  Especially these oh gosh they are good!  I know these are not a local  product and honestly there is nothing that can be done about that fact.  I will have them~ they are that good.   I know how important it is to eat local etc, and I really do try to do just that.  I have to rationalize it this way, I lived in Portland, OR for a short time and my uncle lives in Seattle.  So, it is for old times sake?!  That is the best I can do.  I have some Memphis peaches, and Ripley tomatos waiting their turn for tomorrow’s meal…

  

~So my 6 year old “made”  us desert! Isn’t it pretty?? 

 My new thing to do with  apples is to spread this on them ~ oh it is heavenly!

This is where I am right now.  I always seems to be thinking of food!

 I need to to start another batch of  this bread  and I am going to try it without preheating the oven ~ because it is too hot here to have that oven preheating~ sounds like it might just work.

I am gearing up to get back to work on my  little project~  

but first I am trying to finish another Shalom 


ughh.. to many projects with not near enough time..

One thought on “~What’s for dinner?

  1. Hi Jenn! You’re doing better than we are in the food dept. we can’t seem to get away from ordering takeout from our favorite pizza place most Friday evenings!
    Your grandmother’s garden is just stunning Jenn. Absolutely beautiful. Did you know about this (http://www.flickr.com/groups/jardim_da_vovo/) flickr group for hexagon quilts?

Leave a Reply

