~Happy Scrappy Birthday Quilt~

I just finished my mom’s birthday quilt.  Yikes.  A little late, but you know what they say about that!

I had a lot of fun making this quilt. I had a vision of what I wanted and I think I achieved what I was going for.  I am calling this quilt the Happy Scrappy Birthday quilt because it is made mostly from my scraps. I found my main inspiration fabric from one of my very favorite thrift stores.. can you spot it? Hint: it is in every one of the blocks….

Well, my good camera still has not been repaired, so the quality of these pictures is off, big time. But, perhaps you can see the  main fabric?

When I found this blue floral fabric, I felt as if  it had a sort of vintagey feel to it.. and I knew I wanted to start my blocks with varying sizes of this fabric. I then selected scraps that I felt complemented this  fabric.

This quilt makes me really happy.  It has a mix of my favorites, Anna Marie Horner, Amy Butler, Tanya Whelan, Lizzy House.  I mixed in some lovely linens, my favorite brown gingham,and some Kona cotton.

I realized that  little pieces of all of most of my previous quilts are included in this quilt.  Cool.   Each quilt I made was necessary and needed  in order for this quilt to exist. I love that thought.

That is how I work, one idea slowly builds upon another until I am propelled to produce.  This is part of my creative process, if that makes any sense.

Mom, I am sorry you have to see this quilt here. With the way things are going.. it might be a minute before this gift is in your hands, but I can promise it is even better in person!

2 thoughts on “~Happy Scrappy Birthday Quilt~

  1. Jen – I found it tonight – I checked your blog and there it was – a quilt for Mom – that’s me!! it is beautiful – you have done a remarkable job on it – you are very talented Jen. thank you so very much. i will be glad to have it – i can wait till we both have time. Love you and thank you – love mom

Leave a Reply

