~My rocking chair needed some love~

~My mom is planing a huge move soon to her lake house.. she has tons of “extra” furniture that she needs to find a home for.  She had a rocker and I needed a rocker.  It was comfortable.. but .. I wasn’t loving the cushion.

So,  I made a new cushion. I thought it was pretty cute.  I used the quilt as you go technique from Patchwork StylePenny did a sew as you go quilt a long using the same technique. I think whoever thought up this idea is really clever.  I am thinking of doing a quilt for my bed using this technique, but I am not completely sold.  Anyway, it is great for cushions and pillows! Which is what I made next, because the crochet pillow was not working for me either.

~see, not really cute!

~here is the pillow. Much better!

Here is my “after” I think it is better. I love, love, love this rocker. I love to rock. I sit in this chair and watch my shows and I crochet.  The little pillow above? It was my test swatch for Lucy’s Granny Stripe Blanket.  When I saw her blanket, I knew I wanted to make one.  It is not a fast project, but it is a really good one for sitting and rocking, and watching the Housewives!!

3 thoughts on “~My rocking chair needed some love~

  1. I love your rocking chair and the patchwork it is unique and very detailed. I collect armless chairs, re-upholstered the cushions, as some of it is already old and soiled. My daughter in her antique shop sells some of the chairs that I re-made whereas some of the other pieces I keep for myself, which is why, when people entered our home it is like a mix of everything. I hope you planned on posting several how-to on furnishings as I am totally clueless with it even if I like to hire an interior designer, I am not contented in knowing that I am totally clueless or out of sort.

Leave a Reply

