~Goodness where does the time go??~

How can the weekend be over again?  It feels like the days are simply whizzing by. Like lightning really.

I am loving my library right now. LOVE!  Look at my new cookbooks I checked out last week!!

I have been really working hard on decreasing our packaged foods. We are down by a great deal. I am speaking of packaged prepared foods like: mac and cheese, frozen pizza’s, crackers, kid food, snack food, etc.  I am on the search for new and better recipes daily.

For example:

Pretzels. Yum!  Recipe from here at Maya Made.  They have been a big hit.  My one weakness is pretzels. It’s like crack and I can’t get off of them.

I’ve been making  Rosemary Crackers .  Each time I make them they get better and better.  The secret is to roll the dough just as thin as you can. Paper thin. These taste kind of  like Cheese It”s to me, but much, much better. It’s kind of like  love really.

What I have really been wanting to try is pasta. I tried a recipe a few months ago, and it turned out so bad. I mean like clumps of clay bad. Ugh. I was determined to try again. I  used the recipe from the Alice Water’s cookbook.  The Art of Simple Food.  Oh my, oh my, oh my gosh. I kind of felt like I died and went to heaven. I have no words to describe how good this pasta was. My dad would have been so proud. He always made fresh pasta and I remember he used a  pasta  machine.  I used me,  myself, and I to roll the dough out.  It worked  just fine. Here are a few of the steps..

It is hard to believe egg and flour make pasta, with just a little splash of water. That’s it.

Resting.

I can’t believe I am showing a picture of my kitchen.. oh me.

Just waiting to be cooked. Alice said that hand cut noodles are rustic and charming.  Ok, Alice, I agree.

A finished dish, sorry, so blurry!

Oh my, yum!!  Noodles with a splash of olive oil, butter, zucchini, mushrooms, lemon juice, and lemon basil (from my garden, yay!)

My toughest critic and  she really liked it!

I think I will buy this book.  It is a winner!!

 It seems all I do is spend my day in the kitchen. That is the one thing about changing the way you eat. Whole foods do take more time to prepare. It is well worth it not only for me,  but for my daughter as well. She is beginning to experience  joy in our kitchen, and the joy of creating.  She makes a little something to go with our evening meal. This is joyful time we spend together laughing and being silly.  

This is an added benefit I was not completely expecting, however, she imitates what I do and her creativity is fueled. I have really enjoyed our time together. Especially on the weekends. Her father is working and her big sister is as well. It is just us girls usually.

 I really want to read this book ,  I hope I can find it at my library.  I want to read this one too. I love Cookus Interuptus  their videos are hilarious..! 

Ok, so if you’ve made it this far– I hope you had a wonderful weekend!!

One thought on “~Goodness where does the time go??~

Leave a Reply

