~Birthday Doll~

My littlest turned nine. I have no idea where these last nine years have gone. It seems like just yesterday we were bringing her home after an emergent c-section and here she is almost grown (so she thinks)!

My how these  years have flown. She asked for several different things this year for her birthday, however, the one I was most happy to hear was that she wanted a doll made by me, for her with red hair and green eyes. Just one week ago I had a head. That’s it. I worked a little each night putting her together. Friday I strung her together. Saturday was hair, Sunday more hair and a skirt and shirt. Monday was spent finishing up her sweater and making shoes. Tuesday Birthday Day DONE!

Yay. So happy.  If I can make something my daughter really wants, well, that makes me so happy.  These years may past so very fast, but she will always have a little piece of me with her, wherever she goes I will be with her.  It may be tangible or perhaps just a precious memory this small creation from wool, and cotton made today a special day for a mother and her daughter.  Happy Birthday Emma,  you make us all a little brighter by being in our lives.

5 thoughts on “~Birthday Doll~

  1. What a beautiful birthday doll, does she have Welsh ancestors? it’s just that it’s St Davids day tomorrow (Patron St of Wales) and she’s holding a daffodil!

  2. Love this doll!! Too cute! I made a Waldorf doll for my daughter, who is also Emma, for Easter last year! She quickly became a favorite! :) I love the fact that she has something so sweet to cherish and say that her mama made her!

Leave a Reply

