Dog days of summer have left me wilting!

I have to say I hate to be whiny, but it is too hot for me outside~ these days with my new job, I have little energy to get outdoors and do the weeding and watering. I have passed the torch for now to my hubby since he is home in the day time. I will get back into it I know once it cools down a bit, and when I adjust to my new work schedule. Having 2 days off a week is just not enough to get it all done.

One thing I have really been into these past few weeks is knitting. I have made a little pair of stripey socks for Em and a cool knit bag from the Purl Bee it was so fun to make, loved the pattern!Pearl Bee is a really cool blog I have been enjoying lately. I have been trying to find patterns that would not only refresh my skills, but also use up old stash I have had hanging around. My next projects I have planned are this great scarf called Hot Cross Scarf, it has cool cables in it and then a pair of socks for Sara.I did go to Michael’s yesterday after work and they have put out their fall yarn’s. There are some good looking yarns in great fall colors that I have my eye on. I am going to continue to practice/refresh my skills before I go back to  spending big bucks on fancy yarn… My daughter also wants a pair of wristlets. If anyone knows of a good pattern?

I am also in the midst of repainting my kitchen from a pinkish to antique white. It is a lovely transformation. I have exposed brick that I had used to coordinate the walls and window treatments with, but I was tired of the room being dark. So, being on the north part of the house, I thought a nice light warm antique white would do the trip. Along with freshly painted white trim. Nice and fresh. I wish I hadn’t run out of paint, but off to Home Depot tomorrow. I also found a great closet system that would work with one of our few closets. Living in my little bunglelow leaves me with little storage. So, this should do the trick. Note to self, get up early. Again, back to my point, 2 days off a week just will not do!

Here is to a good week ahead!
DSCF0885

One thought on “Dog days of summer have left me wilting!

  1. It is so hot and humid at the moment that I know how you feel. If I don’t manage to get outside for a walk in the mornings, I can’t be bothered to do so later in the day.

    The tote on purl bee is a great idea. I think that I will have a go at knitting one.

    Marie x

Leave a Reply

