Then came the Strawberry Jam…..

 

 ~fresh strawberries from the Farmer’s Market.

 I used this recipe   I had 8 quarts of berries, I used 5.  I increased the sugar to 6 or 7 cups of sugar, I can not remember.  I think 8 seemed like too  much.  I also increased the lemon juice to 1/2 cup.  I had a little extra that I just poured into a jelly jar and I am using as a topping to my homemade yogurt.

  

 ~berries washed and hulled, simmering with sugar and fresh lemon juice..

   

 ~ 10 jelly jar’s full of strawberry jam!

  

 ~ yum!!

 

 

I had a little extra that I just poured into a jelly jar and I am using as a topping to my homemade yogurt.

That is a subject all to itself, but let me just say Wow!  I love it.  Very different from all the other yogurts I have had.  This is so different, in ways that I am still trying to put words to.. but it is good.  I used this recipe  and it worked exactly as it should. 

 I find it slightly sour and with the right additions you can balance the sour with a sweet, then mix in a crunch and  it rocks!  I have spent a lot of time reading about the health benefits of real yogurt  here and here  so, I thought I would give it a try.  I am so glad I did an my family loves it.

2 thoughts on “Then came the Strawberry Jam…..

Leave a Reply

