~I love quilts~

Here is  my new quilt. I finished over the long weekend.  I learned many lessons on this quilt. I love free motion quilting. I guess about halfway through this quilt I really “got it” Next one will be better certainly. It does take a little time to get the feel of the motion combined with moving the large thick fabric..  

I do however love love love stippled, wrinkled crinkled quilts. 100 % cotton of course.  My favorites used to be the Country Living quilts. I just loved those.
This was intended for a new little baby boy to be born in Nov. I am just not sure if it is gift worthy. As much as I love it, I am not sure.


Also, I sewed my binding on backwards(applied by machine, hand stitched.)… whoops!! I also did not blind stitch it, (I don’t know where my mind was) I think I just wanted it done and I could not wait to wash it..

 I used my scraps to make 2 different bindings and I like it. I love my back, thrifted sheet and leftover scrapes. I have used that green polka dot sheet in so many projects it is just not funny anymore.

So,  overall, I do love my little quilt. I love that I learned quite a bit.  It is not perfect, but to me it is charming, warm and cozy.  I can not wait to make my next one.

8 thoughts on “~I love quilts~

  1. That quilt is wonderful! Believe me the baby won’t mind and will love it. My first thought when I saw it was that it was a baby quilt.

    I have yet to “get” the free motion quilting. I guess I have to just do it.

  2. What a beautiful quilt! I love the shabby chic colors. The free-motion quilting really looks great. I just finished my first quilt top and I swear a have “post-quilt-depression,” after completing such a large project!

  3. I think it is just perfect Jenn! I would certainly consider it gift worthy. I love your colors once again. For some reason quilting has always scared me although I would love to try it one day.

  4. I think your quilt is beautiful and very baby worthy! Congrats on taking the plunge and just doing it. I also love the bright backing, yellow is such a happy color.
    Bradie

Leave a Reply

