Holiday Tradition Swap done ..

Talking about traditions new and old…
I have just started quilting this year. I love the history and reading of the stories of the traditions of quilting. I am happy that I have learned a new craft that I can hopefully use to create a new tradition for my friends and family. I have always wanted to learn how to quilt, and it just goes to show the power of online blogging. I would not have been able to reach this goal without all the inspiration from fellow bloggers!

This is a lap quilt made for my swap partner in OR, based on her description of Christmas colors. It is made from linen and thicker home dec fabrics. I love the colors. I love the heavier weight of the fabric and when I washed the quilt with the cotton batting it crinkled up perfectly! It felt really good to me. I just hope Norma likes it.

I included just for fun just for fun~ a thrifted find of 2 Italian pottery plates that went perfectly with this vintage tablecloth. If post holiday blues try to settle in, just take a warm cup of tea and cake and gaze upon this little bit of sunshine
My swap buddy and I both have a love of finding thrifted goodies. So, for good measure I thought I would put this little find in. It was fun getting to know Norma, it seems we have a lot of similarities.

What would Christmas be without a new Christmas CD?

Here is a wonderful recipe for butter cookies (my dough is in the refrigerator even as i type):

1 c (2 sticks) unsalted butter room temperature
1/2 c sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 large egg yolk
2 1/4 c all -purpose flour

Directions:

In a large bowl of an electric mixer, cream the butter with the sugar, salt, and egg yolk until smooth. Blend in the flour until the mixture blends into a smooth dough. Wrap the dough in a plastic bag and refrigerate 1/2 hour or up to two days.

Preheat the over to 350 degrees. Roll out the dough onto a slightly floured surface to 1/8 inch thickness. Cut into desired shapes using the cookie cutters. Place on a lightly greased sheet. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

Enjoy! (Norma, sorry I forgot to put this recipe in the swap package!)

I hope my swap partner enjoys a little piece of my holiday traditions.. 🙂

Package should be arriving very shortly! Happy Holidays!

One thought on “Holiday Tradition Swap done ..

  1. Jenn I almost want to cry when I read this post. You have no idea how blessed I was by your package!!! This quilt is EVERY bit me and what I love. You hit it right on and so much more than I could have imagined. I adore it so much that I’ve been sitting with it every chance I get to sit down.

    The table cloth is wonderful and is so cheery!! I have several vintage ones and these types are my most favorite. I also have a wall of plates in my kitchen and these two cuties will be going up. They will go perfectly!

    I also love the ornament you made. When I saw it on your previous post, I didn’t realize it was so dainty. It’s so sweet. Jenn, this artist is someone I never heard of and I think his CD is wonderful. I’ve already burned it for a friend because it was so awesome. Christmas music is my most favorite and I play it all year long. “Come thou Fount of Every Blessing” is a personal favorite and I love when we sing it at church. This version is my favorite!!!! I’ve had this CD on since it came.

    Jenn, your thoughtfulness had touched me deeply I appreciate every little detail especially with you taking on a new job and not feeling well. Thank you so very, very much!!! God bless and Merry Christmas!! Norma.

Leave a Reply

