~Back from the land of the dead and hungry~

I told you I was sick, but I had no idea how low I would go. Chills, shakes, then hot flashes, my throat felt like I was swallowing glass. My head was full of concrete.  I won’t lie, it got a little rough.

On Tuesday, I did nothing, NOTHING at all, I went from my chair to my bed, to the tub, to a hot shower if I could stand up longer then 5 minutes. I haven’t had that kind of sick in a while.

Thankfully I woke up a lot better Wednesday, and by dinner time, I felt like I needed to replenish.   I was craving tomatoes, strawberries, and basil & greens.  I felt like  this is what my body needed.

~it started with these strawberries rinsed, sliced, and placed in a bowl with a smidge of sugar  to macerate the berries.

~and these little grape tomatoes, rinsed.

~collards, I really wanted some greens… washed and cut into tiny bite sized pieces.

~chicken tenders cooked in cast iron skillet.

~chicken sliced and tossed with basil.

~cooked pasta, drained with a bit of the cooking liquid reserved in the pot, collard and tomatoes tossed in.

~ricotta cheese added, salt and pepper.

~chicken added. Yum! Restorative and fresh, I am ready for Spring. 

Then it got really good….

yes, really good.

~told you!

It was so good and I feel better, much better.  It pays to listen to your body and this made an even better breakfast.    I am ready to get back to the things I need to do.

Leave a Reply

