~Oh Mujadara and a little pondering~

This post really spoke to me… I was so over winter, just done with it. Yes, we had some sun and we have a few little bulbs popping up, but the majority of the landscape is dead brown & yuck. I know a few good rains will change all of that, but February is a killer for me. It is just a hard month and it drains me.  everything changes in March, the sun is warm and bright.  Everything has buds and there is so much promise in these early March days.

So, I decided to make mujadara. I actually found the idea from here, at Kyrie’s blog,  I just love her blog.  It simply inspires me.

The mujadara is so simple, but the taste is so fabulous. It is all in the onions. This dish is a start in the morning and let it sit all day because it just gets better with a little time behind it.

I have made this fantastic flatbread several times already, and it is a wonderful thing to serve with beans.  My husband says this flatbread reminds him of living in Iran (he lived there for  a short time with his mom and step-dad in the 70’s).  It is really good.  Please spend time reading Sara’s blog, wow, it is so fantastic. You will love it and be really inspired. I know I am ready to go live on a farm!!  Well, in my mind anyway!!

~these little cuties have nothing to do with anything, but I am eating these by the handful each and everyday, so fresh!

I don’t have pictures of the flatbread, but trust me when I say you should make it.  It is fast and easy and a perfect side to this yummy dish!

The way it is going now, we will have a day or two of nice dry sunny days, temps as high as 70ish, wonderful.  So, on these days we are outside. Playing on the front porch with sidewalk chalk and drawing and coloring in her  art journal while I pull a few weeds and try to cut down some of the shrubbery.  Gah- it is a jungle out there.  Then we spend a few days with cold rain and gray dreary skies. I know this will pass soon enough, but spring can play havoc sometimes.

I am so grateful for the wonderfullness of blogs and women all around the world, sharing and inspiring so many.  I have always thought computers bring the world to you, and it is really true. If you want to learn it, you can, if you want to see it, you can all because of this wonderful thing called the internet.  As a young girl I could have never imagined such a thing. Here we are now with so many possibilities. It never ceases to amaze me.

May you find something warm to eat, a bit of sun to shine on your face and  something that brings you just a little bit of wonder.  Happy weekend!!

Leave a Reply

