~Simple is as simple does~

I made a new quilt.  I was totally inspired this quilt  that Jacquie (of Tallgrass Prairie Studio made. Once I saw the pictures, I knew exactly what I wanted to do. I knew which fabrics I wanted to use.  A light bulb turned on! Really.

I had a vision in my head, and I was not disappointed. I wish I had taken proper pictures. This quilt was intended as a gift for my sister and I was down to the wire placing the label on, right before I gave it over to her. Talk about waiting til the last-minute!

I can show you what pictures I did take and you will just have to take my word that it was cute. The vision did materialize and it was all that I wanted it to be.

Here is my quilt’s story.  It’s simple really.  When I was a child, my grandparents, all of them, lived in Florida. We spent weeks every summer, probably 4-6 weeks going between the two sets of grandparents. Especially after my mom went back to work.  My parents did want the kids home alone all summer long.

I have vivid memories of my summer’s spent in Florida. It was hot, usually every afternoon you could count on an afternoon shower. Lovely!

We went to the beach everyday, early in the morning. My grandfather was a diabetic and he had to eat lunch at a certain time. My grandmother had to be home to prepare Harry’s lunch. She was never late.  Anyway,  she always sang a little song as we got ready to go to the beach….

I told you it was simple!

To this day, I can’t think of the beach without singing that little ditty. My grandmother collected shells, and beach glass. She had little jars of the green, white, and blue sea glass that she placed around her home.  

We always came away from our beach trip with tar on our feet. My grandma was prepared for that. She kept a little cannister of ? turpentine, or kerosene or some such strong chemical that she used with a little red rag. She cleaned our feet before we left. That was after she swept our feet with a little whisk broom.  She allowed not one grain of sand into the car.   I think actually, that Harry did not allow sand or dirt in the car, but Georgette surely followed the rules! It was meticulous.

So, sun, sand, tar,blue skies, waves and such.  These are my memories.  We also slept every night on the screened in porch, on a sofa fold-out bed.  My sister and I shared the bed, we slept under the fan. My grandparents never used the air conditioner. Not in the car, nor their home.  I don’t know why, they just never did.  I think it was Harry’s doing.  Well, I know it was.   My grandmother had those vintage sheets, bright and  colorful.  The tag always said no iron, percale.  They probably weren’t vintage at the time, but you know…

Can you see where I am going??

My sister goes to Florida each year with her husband and her

in-law’s.  This year for her birthday I wanted to make her a beach quilt. To take on her trip, to add to her memories of Florida.  To help make new memories if you will.

So, even though I don’t have the best photo’s to show this quilt, I hope you can get the picture. Quilts are for everyday use. They are warm and comfortable. They are cozy and full of love.  They are made to last a long time. They are for making memories.

So, if you will please excuse my incomplete photo’s, we were busy living!!

5 thoughts on “~Simple is as simple does~

  1. Beautiful post, beautiful quilt and beautiful sister!!!!! You made me cry too. We need to get you back to the beach, beach, beach.

Leave a Reply

