~I have a dream~

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }
.flickr-yourcomment { }
.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }
.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }

Orange Clock, originally uploaded by jennbennstar.

~This is our hope. This is the faith with which I return to the South. With this faith we will be able to hew out of the mountain of despair a stone of hope. With this faith we will be able to transform the jangling discords of our nation into a beautiful symphony of brotherhood. With this faith we will be able to work together, to pray together, to struggle together, to go to jail together, to stand up for freedom together, knowing that we will be free one day.

This will be the day when all of God’s children will be able to sing with a new meaning, “My country, ’tis of thee, sweet land of liberty, of thee I sing. Land where my fathers died, land of the pilgrim’s pride, from every mountainside, let freedom ring.”

And if America is to be a great nation this must become true. So let freedom ring from the prodigious hilltops of New Hampshire. Let freedom ring from the mighty mountains of New York. Let freedom ring from the heightening Alleghenies of Pennsylvania!

Let freedom ring from the snow-capped Rockies of Colorado!

Let freedom ring from the curvaceous peaks of California!

But not only that; let freedom ring from Stone Mountain of Georgia!

Let freedom ring from Lookout Mountain of Tennessee!

Let freedom ring from every hill and every molehill of Mississippi. From every mountainside, let freedom ring.

When we let freedom ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual, “Free at last! free at last! thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”~ Martin Luther King

I always remember the story my friend Ms. Joyce told me.  She grew up in  Mississippi. In the country. Her mom kept a huge garden, her dad had livestock. One day Martin Luther King and his people came to their town, to their house. Her mom cooked and prepared a huge meal. One of his people asked her mom if they could stay the night. Of course she said yes, but inside she was terrified. She was scared harm would come to her and her family if people knew they let them stay. After sharing a meal it turned out that Martin Luther King was called away and they had to leave. So, he ended up not staying. It was not to long after he was killed in Memphis.

I am a 3rd generation American. My grandparents came from France, Hungary and England. They were born here in the early 1900’s. I live in the south and though Martin Luther King was before my time, his words are so powerful to me today. I feel his sentiments and his words chill me. I hope each generation that comes behind my children will be free from prejudice and hate. I know hate still exists around and among us and I pray for a day where hate will not and can not exist and poverty will be a distant memory.

Leave a Reply

