~What’s for dinner?

Coming up with new ideas for dinner can be challenging.  Thankfully we are in the best time of the year for nutritious and delicious options!

 

I like to go to our neighborhood veggie store to pick up fresh items for dinner.
Today yielded some kale, snap beans, new potatoes, and summer squash. I have been wanting to try this recipe I have seen other recipes around, but I do not care for vinegar. However I LOVE olive oil and this version really worked for me.
The funny thing is these kale chips taste just like real chips.  I am not kidding.  If you took a bite without looking at it you would not know. I know it sounds crazy but it is so true!


I really had a taste for roasted vegetables so I tossed a bit of summer squash, snap beans, and vidalia onion with some olive oil.  I roasted this little medley at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes.  Tossed with orzo it was fantastic! It was light and very satisfying.  I used Ina’s recipe for the new potatoes~ of course they were fabulous!! That goes without saying…

Every time I see cherries I just feel so happy.  They are one of my very favorite fruit.  Especially these oh gosh they are good!  I know these are not a local  product and honestly there is nothing that can be done about that fact.  I will have them~ they are that good.   I know how important it is to eat local etc, and I really do try to do just that.  I have to rationalize it this way, I lived in Portland, OR for a short time and my uncle lives in Seattle.  So, it is for old times sake?!  That is the best I can do.  I have some Memphis peaches, and Ripley tomatos waiting their turn for tomorrow’s meal…

  

~So my 6 year old “made”  us desert! Isn’t it pretty?? 

 My new thing to do with  apples is to spread this on them ~ oh it is heavenly!

This is where I am right now.  I always seems to be thinking of food!

 I need to to start another batch of  this bread  and I am going to try it without preheating the oven ~ because it is too hot here to have that oven preheating~ sounds like it might just work.

I am gearing up to get back to work on my  little project~  

but first I am trying to finish another Shalom 


ughh.. to many projects with not near enough time..