Sunday sewing…. mixed with a little crochet…

Taking a break from the garden, I spent a little time sewing today. I am going to participate in the Polka Dot Creations Summer Skirt Sheet Swap so, I found this great sheet at the GW yesterday. It was the right size and I love the pattern …. got it home and went to wash it, and to my surprise.. the pattern is only on the top portion of the sheet. Bummer! So, i went ahead and cut it to spec’s and sewed it up. This is a great tut.. great idea. Fast, fun and a good way to “reduce, reuse and recycle” as my 5 year old has been spouting all week, thanks to Earth Week education..

So, here it is…

Making the skirt was so fun and fast that I thought I should make one for Em~ from a pillow case of course…

and in action, twirling on her toes, very hard to get a still shot…  ~

                All I can think of is “Dancing Girl” from ABBA ~ anyway I think she liked it.

I also finished up this little crochet project. Inspiration came from many different places, but I put my own spin on it by finishing up one piece,  slip stitch the sides together and making a strap gone wrong to a center closure type thing.  I am just calling it a wristlet.. and I am thinking about lining it so it can could be used. Or, I could see using in my purse for bigger things, like cell phone, sunglasses, keys.   Really I am not sure on this one…

      

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sunday sewing…. mixed with a little crochet…

  1. These both turned out just great. I’m a sewing and crochet addict during the gardening “off season”. I love finding fabric at the thrift stores and then sewing it into outfits for my daughter. Felting old wool sweaters is a ton of fun too.

Leave a comment